RSS

New name new focus

24 Apr

There is so much more I want to blog about then just scheduling the time to write (although I believe scheduling time is so so so so very important – yes, that is 4 ‘so’s in honor of the 4 reallys), I’ve changed my blog name and I believe I am ready to blog again. I have been very busy developing my writing life, developing a business plan, writing my novel, talking with like minded people…life is good!

And now that I’ve mentioned my novel, I have to state, it is really beginning to develop and I am extremely excited – could it be that the finish line is in sight? What does the finish line look like? if you are writing a book, or better yet, have written a book, please tell me, when will I know it is done?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Welcome, Writing Makes Me Happy

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “New name new focus

  1. Jane Laysen

    April 25, 2012 at 12:24 am

    I wish I could tell you what the finish line looks like, but I’m still in the novel writing race myself. 🙂

     
    • juliecordova

      May 9, 2012 at 2:32 am

      I thought I had made it around the last bend, but now that I made the turn, I can see the road is still a long one, but for now it appears to be downhill (ha, I mean that in a good way.)

      How far along are you?

       
  2. beckony

    April 25, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I’ve finished two novels and a smattering of novellas (none published, unfortunately) and I think the cliche of “you’re never really done” is true. There’s always something to change. But you know you’ve done what you can when the things you’re changing are too small to make a difference–you know, when there’s just that *one* paragraph that doesn’t ring right. At some point you have to let go.

    You’re already doing a great job by setting a schedule. My writing really picked up when I decided I was going to stick to a goal.

     
    • juliecordova

      May 9, 2012 at 2:39 am

      Did you happen to see the “press this” link I posted – the article mentioned writing 6 hours a day – everyday. If that’s what it takes I need to add a hours to my schedule. Unless, that six hours includes editing time. Actually, now that I write that I think it must include editing time: Can you write, actually write, for 6 hours everyday? I can’t. I think I have done it. I know I have done it. But, then I couldn’t keep up that pace day after day.

       
      • beckony

        May 9, 2012 at 3:36 am

        There’s absolutely no way I could do 6 hours a day. Honestly, I don’t know how people with jobs/school/other commitments *can*. Maybe I’ve done it or twice–but I like word goals better (and smaller ones). I’m less likely to waste time.

         

Leave a comment